Tornado

I walked outside completely ready for another day of school, but then it hit me, the cool crisp air that is. A frosty draft splashes in unpredictable directions like storming water. The bare trees hold there leaves no more whilst their miserable moans hum in the sloshing breeze.

“Get inside, now.” I hear my mother say sternly, I know what she’s thinking. I shook my head in disbeleif and sprinted into the house slamming the wooden door and locking it tight “Get your Dad.” she orders in a slightly worried tone. Rushing up the carpeted stair one step faster then the other. I scream, my voice explaining my expression “Dad?! Come down quick.” I guess by my tone he knew something was wrong. “What is it? Are you hurt?” He asks.

“No, the tornado is coming, get to the bunker quickly. We know what happened when the last tornado hit.” she replies already jogging to the bunker. A shiver goes down my spine… Poor Stacy didn’t even see it behind her, it sucked her up like a vacuum but never spat her out, we never found Stacy if there was anything left of her.The bunker is where we hide if anything bad is hurling towards us such as now. I can hear the blast picking up speed and probably cars and trees at this rate. My heart sinks to the floor when the tightly locked door abruptly rips from the metal hinges making an ear piercing screech “Now!” my mother says awed at the scene.

But we were too late. It drags me in first, refusing to let go my nails digging into what’s left of the floorboards which sounds like nails on a chalkboard “Help!” I scream nearly out of breathe since the tornado seems to be dragging that as well as me. “Don’t let go” my father says reaching out his hand but falls helplessly into the heart of the tornado. “Dad no!” I scream as the rivers of tears stream down my cheeks in horror. “Dad is gone…,” I say looking my mother straight in the eyes, “gone.” I decide what’s the point… humanity is lost and so am I. I let go.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *